Learning Your Partner's Love Language Could Save Your Relationship

Learning Your Partner's Love Language Could Save Your Relationship

Love can be different for various people and that's a reason why no two relationships are the same.

However, some things are the same no matter who you are or where you are. There may be times you feel you're putting in effort into your relationship, but you're not getting the right reaction. Maybe that's because you haven't understood their love language yet.

Or maybe you're doing all these things, but they aren't doing the same for you. Why's that, you might wonder? It's simple. People don't express their love in the same way.

That's why there are generally 5 love languages out there. It's basically picking your poison. The way you understand and feel love could be completely different from the way your partner does.

Understanding the primary love languages we have helps you identify how your partner is showing you love. It also helps identify how you can show them love in return.

There's really no better thing than love languages when it comes to relationships. They go a long way in not just making you and your partner happy but also having a lasting relationship.

Here are the 5 primary love languages which are great to strengthen your love and relationship.

Quality Time

Learning Your Partner's Love Language Could Save Your Relationship

Quality time is on top of the list (even if it's not in any order) because it is a magnificent love language. One of the best ways you could show you love your partner is by making time for them.

Yes, it's a busy world, and everyone has things to do. It's easy to get so lost in the hustle that you forget to give your partner time and attention. Doing that never yields anything good.

However, shutting out the world and spending time with your partner gives them assurance. It helps them see that no matter what goes on in your head or outside, they come first.

Quality time with your partner could be lying in bed, talking about your day. Going for a dinner date and just flirting. Add a bit of body language to make them aware of how present you are.

Physical Touch

Learning Your Partner's Love Language Could Save Your Relationship

Physical touch is another love language that could save your relationship. What does it entail?

Hugging, kissing, holding hands, making love, etc. A sense of peace and understanding comes with touching your partner. It's literally a very direct way to show your love, and it is quite addictive as well.

So next time you see your partner doing the dishes or fixing the car, wrap your arms around their waist and place a kiss on them. The tenderness and attention to detail never fail.

It leaves them smiling to themselves once you leave the room. A simple forehead kiss, back hug, or hand-holding with a gentle squeeze is enough to make them happy all day. Try it.

Words of Affirmation

Learning Your Partner's Love Language Could Save Your Relationship

What are words of affirmation and why are they so important? Words of affirmation are those words you really need to hear even when you aren't sure. They are really important because they assure you of things you didn't know you needed assurance for.

A simple "I love you" to your partner goes a long way. Especially when you throw it out of nowhere. "I appreciate all you do for me" "you're an amazing person" "I'm so happy you're in my life".

Believe it or not, it puts them in a better and lighter mode. Words of affirmation aren't just what you say but how you say it. They are also the actions you use.

Saying you love your partner without showing it defeats the entire purpose. Remember to never say demeaning and terrible things to your partner because they hold it to their hearts. Instead do the opposite and let the thought of your words always bring them that peace they never knew they needed.

Acts of Service

Learning Your Partner's Love Language Could Save Your Relationship

Another primary love language you should show your partner today is an act of service. Helping around the house shows you care and love them to contribute as much as you can.

If you aren't doing an act of service, it's very easy for your words of affirmation to fall flat. Sometimes you don't need the words, you just need the action.

Acts of service include changing the lights, doing the laundry, making breakfast/dinner, taking care of the kids, doing the dishes, etc. Something you know takes up your partner's time, and you're sure you can help.

Giving them that time to rest and get a shut-eye is precious. Sometimes you don't even need to spell out the words "I love you." They can tell from the acts of service you put in here and there.

Giving Presents

Learning Your Partner's Love Language Could Save Your Relationship

Gifting your partner is another love language you shouldn't sleep on. Getting them something nice for Christmas, new year, birthdays, etc can go a long way in making them happy.

You don't need to wait for a special occasion such as these or even your anniversary to get them something you know they've wanted.

This shows you pay attention to them to know what they would appreciate. It doesn't have to be something expensive all the time.

Making a gift yourself or getting flowers yourself on your way home or to their workplace is enough to make their day.

Love languages are all around us. Everything else is deeply rooted in these 5 primary love languages. Hopefully, this helps you strengthen your relationship and understand that love isn't supposed to be as complicated as people make it seem.