10 Facts You Didn't Know About Zodiac Signs

10 facts you didn’t know about zodiac sign

Let us admit that most of us know our zodiac signs, and at least once in our lifetime, we have been influenced by our horoscopes. Why wouldn't that happen when there are T.V. stations which allot time to air daily horoscopes and newspapers which have a particular section for it, too? Be it daily, monthly, or yearly, horoscope guesses and predictions are always everywhere.

What are these Zodiac Signs?

Zodiac originated from the Latin word z┼Źdiacus, which means "circle of animals." It illustrates the 12 astrological signs that make use of the First Point of Ares, also known as Cusp of Ares, as a reference in the celestial coordinate systems. A ram's horn represents the symbol of the zodiac.


The 12 zodiac signs in order are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Each of them is exhibited with a unique constellation and has a distinct astrological sign date. And if you want to discover what your zodiac sign tells you, Project Spiritual will answer your questions.

10 must-know things about Zodiac Signs

Though you might be already familiar with astrological signs since you were young, there are still surprising things about it that you might not know.


Babylonians originated it

The Babylonians were the first to create the concept of Zodiac signs dated 1800 B.C. Since they had no idea about the universe before, they assumed that the stars' constellations at night are myths and gods. However, some Babylonians' ideas are already not used today because the sky from thousand years ago has shifted due to the earth's axis and doesn't have the same point of direction anymore.


Astrologers do not depict the exact future

True astrologers study a person's birth date by considering the alignment of the planets and stars. They do not predict the exact future, but instead, ask you about your past experiences and relate them to your possible future based on your transiting planet.


Zodiac signs are associated with four elements

Zodiac signs belong to the four classical elements earth, air, water, and fire. Virgo and Capricorn belong to the earth element, while Gemini, Libra, and Sagittarius are associated with air. The signs of Scorpio, Cancer, and Pisces are under the water element. And Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are connected with the fire element.


Astrological signs were used in farming

Before the astrological signs were used to depict the future, it was first applied in farming and animal husbandry. They use the lunar cycles to determine when to plant, cultivate, and harvest crops. There is no scientific proof of its effectiveness.

There is a forgotten zodiac sign

Because there are 13 discovered astrological constellations, but a year has only 12 months, one of these signs was abandoned, and it was called Ophiucus.


Libra is the only zodiac sign not represented by an animal or human

Libra is the only star pattern that does not represent a human or an animal; it is the only inanimate entity among the Zodiac signs. It is instead symbolized by the scales and is associated with the Roman deity Iustitia.

Western Astrology versus Chinese Zodiac

Several things make Western astrology different from the Chinese zodiac. First, the Westerners are associated with only four elements: earth, air, fire, and water, whereas the Chinese zodiac has five: fire, earth, metal, water, and wood. Another one is that Western astrology is divided every month, while the Chinese Zodiac is based on a year-long factor.


Astrology is in the Bible

You may not know this, but yes. The Bible also mentions Astrology. Isaiah 47:13-15 states that "Thou art wearied in the multitude of thy counsels. Let now the astrologers, the stargazers, the monthly prognosticators, stand up, and save thee from [these things] that shall come upon thee. Behold, they shall be as stubble; the fire shall burn them; they shall not deliver themselves from the power of the flame: [there shall] not [be] a coal to warm at, [nor] fire to sit before it. Thus shall they be unto thee with whom thou hast labored, [even] thy merchants, from thy youth: they shall wander every one to his quarter; none shall save thee."


Zodiac signs are Latin words

The zodiac signs are named after the animals or persons formed by the constellation of stars in Latin words because it was the scientific language used. For example, the Taurus sign is represented by a bull; thus, it is called as such. The same goes for the other signs.


Aries marks the start of the Zodiac calendar

The tropical zodiac beginning starts with the sign Aries and not Capricorn. It is because spring equinox occurs on March 21 yearly.